New Appointments

Keith BoninProf. Keith Bonin was appointed Chair of the Physics Department in July. Prof. Bonin has been at Wake Forest since 1992. He received his PhD in Physics at the University of Maryland and was a faculty member in the Department of Physics at Princeton University prior to coming to Wake Forest. Prof. Bonin was Graduate Program Director from 2002-2007 and he has served on many university and departmental committees including the Reynolds Scholarship Committee, the Graduate Council, and the Theme Year on Fostering Dialogue. His research is in the areas of optics, nanoscience, and biophysics.


Martin GutholdProf. Martin Guthold was appointed Graduate Program Director for the Department of Physics in July. Prof. Guthold came to Wake Forest in 2001. He received his PhD from the University of Oregon and subsequently was a postdoctoral associate at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Prof. Guthold has served on the Provost's Research Advisory Council, and is currently serving on the Graduate Council and the Curriculum Committee. He was the Society of Physics Students advisor from 2003-2007. His research is in the areas of biophysics and bionanotechnology.