[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive] WFU Physics Seminars

WFU Physics Colloquium Schedule -- Spring 2000


All seminars will be held at 4 PM in Room 101 of Olin Physical Laboratory (unless noted otherwise); there will be refreshments at 3:30 PM in the lobby prior to each seminar.

Thurs. Jan. 13, 2000, Professor Laurie McNeil, UNC -- "Painting the Town Red: Light Scattering from Concentrated Particulate Dispersions"

Fri. Jan. 14, 2000, Professor Carmen Almasan -- Kent State U. -- Experimental Investigations of the Dynamics of Flux Vortices in High Transition Temperature Superconductors" 2:30 PM -- (please note unusal time and date)

Thurs. Jan. 20, 2000, Dr. Catherine Crouch, Harvard U. Peer Instruction in Physics

Wed. Jan. 26, 2000, (note special day due to WFU Year of Science and Technology Event) Professor Michael Turner, U. Chicago -- Y2K Cosmology: From quantum fluctuations to the accelerating universe. Professor Turner will also give a public lecture -- "Big bang cosmology: From quark soup to the expanding Universe" in Brendle Recital Hall at 8 PM.

Tues. Feb. 1, 2000, Dr. Michael R. Falvo, UNC -- Gear-like rolling motion at the nanometer scale Postponed due to icy road conditions.

Tues. Feb. 8, 2000, Dr. Jeremy Qualls, Florida State U. -- The World of Organic Metals"

Thurs. Feb. 10, 2000, Dr. Alan Chin, Stanford U. -- Strongly Driven Semiconductors

Tues. Feb. 15, 2000, Dr. James Hone, U. Pennsylvania -- "Carbon nanotubes: electrons and phonons on the nanoscale."

Thurs. Feb. 17, 2000, Professor Michael Ellison, Clemson -- "Measuring the small currents generated by polarization at polymer interfaces by thermally stimulated current techniques."

Wed. Feb. 23, 2000, Dr. Michael R. Falvo, UNC -- Gear-like rolling motion at the nanometer scale

Thurs. Feb. 24, 2000, Professor Horst Meyer, Duke U. -- Equilibration and heat transfer near the liquid-vapor critical point of a pure fluid

Thurs. Mar. 2, 2000, (seminar-less refreshments only at 3:30 PM)

Thurs. Mar. 9, 2000, Spring break --

Thurs. Mar. 16, 2000, Professor Peter Malin, Duke U. -- San Andreas Park: drilling the fault to solve the physics of plate boundary paradoxes.

Thurs. Mar. 23, 2000, March APS meeting --

Thurs. Mar. 30, 2000, Dr. Margherita Zanini, Ford Motor Co. -- Gas Sensor Technologies for Automotive Applications.

Thurs. Apr. 6, 2000, Professor Jeff Weiner, WFUSM -- A Biophysical Peek at the Intoxicated Synapse

Thurs. Apr. 13, 2000,Professor Hadis Morkoç, Virginia Commonwealth U. -- GaN based modulation doped, quantum well, and quantum dot heterostructures

Thurs. Apr. 20, 2000, Professor Brett Taylor, Radford U. --- Spinning Down a Rotating Black Hole

Thurs. Apr. 27, 2000, SPS Physics Honor Society & distributions of physics T-shirts Wed. July 19, 2000, Kerry Grow, WFU --- Master's Thesis Presentation: Evaluation of Emission Tuned-Aperture Computed Tomography (ETACT)


Tentative schedule -- please check announcements and abstracts of seminars.
Previous and future colloquia

WFU Physics Home Page