[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive] WFU Physics Seminars

WFU Physics Colloquium Schedule -- Spring 2001


All seminars will be held at 4 PM in Room 101 of Olin Physical Laboratory (unless noted otherwise); there will be refreshments at 3:30 PM in the lobby prior to each seminar.

Thurs. Jan. 18, 2001, Dr. Sebahattin Tüzemen, WFU Visitor, -- Assessment of Bulk Gallium Arsenide

Thurs. Jan. 25, 2001, Professor Dany Kim-Shapiro, WFU -- Biophysical Studies of Sickle Cell Hemoglobin

Tues. Jan. 30, 2001, Dr. Martin Guthold, UNC -- "Getting up-close and personal with individual molecules"

Thurs. Feb. 1, 2001, Dr. James Werner, Los Alamos -- "Dynamics of the primary processes of protein folding: Helix nucleation"

Thurs. Feb. 8, 2001, Professor Ulrich Hansmann, Michigan Tech U. -- "New Algorithms and the Statistical Physics of Protein Folding"

Thurs. Feb. 15, 2001, Dr. Ray Luo, UCSF -- "Computational Approaches to Protein Folding and Molecular Recognition: Method and Applications"

Thurs. Feb. 22, 2001, Dr. Steven Plotkin, UCSD -- "Understanding Protein Folding with Energy Landscape Theory"

Thurs. Mar. 1, 2001, Dr. Mark Williams, U. Minn. -- Helix-Coil Transition of Single DNA Molecules

Thurs. Mar. 8, 2001, Professor William C. Kerr, WFU -- Decay Rate from the Metastable State

Thurs. Mar. 15, 2001 No seminar (Spring Break)

Thurs. Mar. 22, 2001 Dr. Emil Mottola, Los Alamos -- A Problem of Some Gravity: Cosmological Vacuum Energy

Thurs. Mar. 29, 2001 Professor Yuri Sushko, U. Kentucky -- "Interplay between magnetism and superconductivity in 2-d organic superconductors"

Tues. Apr. 3, 2001 Physics Party in honor of Student Appreciation Week

Thurs. Apr. 5, 2001 Graduate student research day -- 2:00 - 4:00 pm in Room 401, Benson

Tues. Apr. 10, 2001 Dr. Voichita Dadarlat, Lawrence Berkeley Labs. "Compressibility, Protein Matrix Entropy, and Internal Energy Partitioning in Globular Proteins"

Thurs. Apr. 12, 2001 (Good Friday 4/13/00)

Thurs. Apr. 19, 2001 Dr. M. Shane Hutson, Duke U. -- Unraveling the Role of Arginine 82 in the Bacteriorhodopsin Photocycle

Thurs. Apr. 26, 2001 Professor Massimiliano Di Ventra, Virginia Tech -- "Nano- and Bio-Technology from first-principles atomic-scale calculations"

Thurs. May 3, 2001 Physics T-Shirt distribution, SPS Ceremony, and Honors Thesis presentation -- Jacob Kline -- will present his work on "Graviton fluctutations in an inflating universe."

Thurs. June 14, 2001 Yaochun Zhang, WFU -- "Band Structure and Optical Properties of PbWO4 and Multiphoton Microscopy of PbWO4 and GaN: A Combined Theoretical and Experimental Dissertation" (Note: Seminar will be held at 1 PM in Olin Room 103.)


Tentative schedule -- please check announcements and abstracts of seminars.
Previous and future colloquia

WFU Physics Home Page