[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive] WFU Physics Seminars

WFU Physics Colloquium Schedule -- Fall 2003


All seminars will be held at 4 PM in Room 101 of Olin Physical Laboratory (unless noted otherwise); there will be refreshments at 3:30 PM in the lobby prior to each seminar.

Thurs. Aug. 28, 2003 Welcoming "Tea"

Thurs. Sept. 4, 2003 WFU Physics Research Part I

Thurs. Sept. 11, 2003 WFU Physics Research Part II

Thurs. Sept. 18, 2003 Professor Brian Matthews, U. Oregon -- "Tolerance and Intolerance in Protein Structure and Function" (Postponed until Nov. 20th.) In his place, Professor Richard Williams presented an impromptu talk entitled "Scintillators for particle physics, medical imaging, oil drilling, transportation security, neutron spectroscopy and more -- a report on the SCINT2003 conference"

Thurs. Sept. 25, 2003 Professor Steven Vogel, Duke U. -- "When Muscle Mattered Most: The Biomechanics of Some Ancient Tasks"

Thurs. Oct. 2, 2003 Professor Promod Pratap, UNCG -- Kinetics of Substrate Interaction with the Sodium Pump

Thurs. Oct. 9, 2003 Professor Hanli Liu, U. Texas at Arlington and Dr. Yueping Zeng, Wuhan Univ. of Sci. & Techn. The Physics and Analysis of Non-invasive Optical Imaging

Thurs. Oct. 16, 2003 (Fall break 10/17/03)

Thurs. Oct. 23, 2003 Professor Heinz-Bernd Schüttler, U. Georgia -- Random Walks through the Gene Machine: the Ensemble Method of Biological Circuit Identification

Thurs. Oct. 30, 2003 No seminar -- student and faculty participation in Project Pumpkin.

Thurs. Nov. 6, 2003 Professor Gerbrand Ceder, MIT -- "The physics of transition metal oxides in rechargeable lithium batteries" Note: seminar will be held at 3 PM

Thurs. Nov. 13, 2003 Professor Gary Pielak, UNC -- "Protein Biophysics in Cells"

Thurs. Nov. 20, 2003 Professor Brian Matthews, U. Oregon -- "Tolerance and Intolerance in Protein Structure and Function"

Thurs. Nov. 27, 2003 (Thanksgiving Holiday)

Thurs. Dec. 4, 2003 Professor Scott Wollenwebber, WFU School of Medicine -- "Positron Emission Tomography: From Basic Physics to Functional Images"

CANCELLED: Mon. Dec. 8, 2003 Professor Stuart Kauffman, U. Penn. -- "Understanding Genetic Regulatory Networks" Note: Seminar will by held at 12 noon in Room 125 in Winston Hall. (This seminar was arranged by the Biology Department; refreshments will be served at 11:45 AM before the seminar)


Tentative schedule -- please check announcements and abstracts of seminars.

Spring 2004 schedule

Thurs. Jan. 15, 2004 Professor Stefano Curtarolo, Duke U. -- Recycling information in quantum calculations of materials properties Thurs. Jan. 29, 2004 Professor Robert G. Fuller, University of Nebraska-Lincoln --
Thurs. Mar. 4, 2004 Professor Daniel Reichart, UNC --
Thurs. Apr. 1, 2004 Professor John Thomas, Duke U. -- "Optical traps and strongly interacting degenerate Fermi gases"
Thurs. Apr. 15, 2004 Professor Marco Buongiorno Nardelli, UCSU --
Thurs. Apr. 22, 2004 Dr. Timothy E. Miller, WFU --
Previous and future colloquia

WFU Physics Home Page