[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive] WFU Physics Seminars

WFU Physics Colloquium Schedule -- Spring 2003


All seminars will be held at 4 PM in Room 101 of Olin Physical Laboratory (unless noted otherwise); there will be refreshments at 3:30 PM in the lobby prior to each seminar.

Thurs. Jan. 16, 2003 Professor David L. Carroll, Clemson U. -- Opto-electronic nanocomposites and the evolution of organic photonics

Tues. Jan. 21, 2003 Professor Sandor Vajda, Boston U. -- Computational Solvent Mapping of Proteins 3 PM

Thurs. Jan. 23, 2003 Professor Jeff Chen, U. Waterloo -- Computer simulations of micromanipulation of proteins and DNA 3 PM

Thurs. Jan. 30, 2003 Dr. Jeff Dyck, U. Michigan -- Diluted magnetic semiconductors based the layered A2VB3VI compounds

Tues. Feb. 4, 2003 Dr. Kristan Corwin, NIST -- The best and the worst about supercontinuum generation

Thurs. Feb. 6, 2003 Dr. Jacquelyn Fetrow, GeneFormatics, Inc. -- Integration of Structural and Chemical Proteomics to Drive Drug Discovery: Application to Protein Tyrosine Phosphatases

Thurs. Feb. 13, 2003 Dr. Masashi Yamaguchi, U. California-Riverside -- HIGH-PRESSURE Light scattering Study of low Energy excitations in glasses

Thurs. Feb. 20, 2003 Dr. Lyann May B. Ursos, Georgetown U. -- Acidification of the digestive vacuole of P. falciparum malaria parasites is linked to drug resistance -- cancelled due to snow.

Thurs. Feb. 27, 2003 Practice talks for APS and Biophysics meetings Preview of some of the 10 minute talks and poster presentations will be presented by faculty and students

Thurs. Mar. 6, 2003 No seminar (APS and Biophysics meetings)

Thurs. Mar. 13, 2003 No seminar (spring break)

Thurs. Mar. 20, 2003

Thurs. Mar. 27, 2003 Dr. Mark Roberson, MCNC -- Signal Processing

Tues. Apr. 1, 2003 Practice talks for April APS meeting

Thurs. Apr. 3, 2003 Professor Jonathan Lees, UNC -- Molten Rock, Singing Fire: Physics of Exploding Volcanoes

Thurs. Apr. 10, 2003 Professor Luis Orozco, SUNY at Stony Brook -- (Distinguished traveling lecturer of the APS Division of Laser Science) "Quantum Feedback in Cavity QED" or the "Capture and Reslease of a Quantum Butterfly". Professsor Orozco will also give a public lecture entitled "Waves and Particles in Light" at 8 PM in Olin 101.

Thurs. Apr. 17, 2003 Good Friday on 4/18/03

Thurs. Apr. 24, 2003 SPS ceremony and honors presentations.

Thurs. May 1, 2003 Peter Groves, WFU Thesis presentation -- "A Method to Compute the Stress-Energy Tensor of Fermions in Static Spherically Symmetric Spacetimes"

Thurs. July 24, 2003 David Hill, WFU Thesis presentation -- Changes in the number of molecular motors driving vesicle transport in PC12

Fri. Aug. 1, 2003 John Wilkinson, WFU Thesis presentation -- Picosecond time-resolved photoluminescence oF zinc oxide single crystals, films and nanoparticles 1:30 PM


Tentative schedule -- please check announcements and abstracts of seminars.
Previous and future colloquia

WFU Physics Home Page