[an error occurred while processing this directive]

WFU Physics Colloquium Schedule -- Fall 2004


All seminars will be held at 4 PM in Room 101 of Olin Physical Laboratory (unless noted otherwise); there will be refreshments at 3:30 PM in the lobby prior to each seminar.

Thurs. Aug. 26, 2004 Welcoming "Tea"

Thurs. Sept. 2, 2004 Professor Frank Ferrone, Drexel University -- The Physics of Sickle Cell Disease

Thurs. Sept. 9, 2004 Research opportunities in WFU Physics -- Part I

Thurs. Sept. 16, 2004 Dr. Mark Wilson, Physics Today -- A day in the life of a Physics Editor

Thurs. Sept. 23, 2004 Professor Roberto Car, Princeton U. -- The H-bond network in water and ice

Thurs. Sept. 30, 2004 Professor Lukasz A. Turski, (visiting WFU from Poland) -- "Symmetries and scaling laws in nature"

Thurs. Oct. 7, 2004 Professor Gail McLaughlin, NCSU -- Neutrinos and Nucleosynthesis in Supernovae and Gamma Ray Bursts

Thurs. Oct. 14, 2004 (Fall break 10/15/04)

Thurs. Oct. 21, 2004 Research opportunities in WFU Physics -- Part II

Thurs. Oct. 28, 2004 Professor Guy Ouvrard, Institute of Materials Jean Rouxel, Nantes, France (jointly sponsored with Chemistry Department) -- Characterization of lithium battery materials

Thurs. Nov. 4, 2004 Gang Xiong, Ph. D. Thesis presentation -- A Short but Bright Life - Coherent Spontaneous Emission of Excitons in ZnO Note: seminar will be given at 3 PM

Thurs. Nov. 11, 2004 Professor Waitao Yang, Duke U. -- Simulation of Biological Systems with Linear-Scale and Multi-Scale Approaches

Thurs. Nov. 18, 2004 Yonas Abraham, Ph. D. Thesis presentation -- Electronic surface states -- a theoretical and experimental perspective Note: seminar will be given at 2 PM

Thurs. Nov. 25, 2004 (Thanksgiving Holiday)

Thurs. Dec. 2, 2004 Professor Donald Bashford, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital -- Modelling Electrostatic Effects in Protein Structure and Function


Tentative schedule -- please check announcements and abstracts of seminars.
Previous and future colloquia

[an error occurred while processing this directive]