[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive] WFU Physics Seminars

WFU Physics Colloquium Schedule -- Spring 2004


All seminars will be held at 4 PM in Room 101 of Olin Physical Laboratory (unless noted otherwise); there will be refreshments at 3:30 PM in the lobby prior to each seminar.

Thurs. Jan. 15, 2004 Professor Stefano Curtarolo, Duke U. -- Recycling information in quantum calculations of materials properties

Thurs. Jan. 22, 2004 Dr. Lisa Lapidus, Stanford U. -- "The Physics of Protein and RNA folding"

Thurs. Jan. 29, 2004 Dr. Jordan Gerton, Caltech. -- (2 PM) -- Playing With Lightning: Tip-Enhanced Fluorescence Microscopy at 10 nm Resolution

Thurs. Jan. 29, 2004 Professor Robert G. Fuller, University of Nebraska-Lincoln -- (4 PM) -- How Can We Renew Our Physics Curriculum?

Tues. Feb. 3, 2004 Dr. Jed Macosko, U. New Mexico -- Surveying a Protein Machine's Potential Energy Surface

Thurs. Feb. 12, 2004 Professor Gijs Wuite, University of Amsterdam -- "Exploring the dynamic interaction between DNA and proteins at a single molecule level"

Thurs. Feb. 19, 2004 Professor Stephen Beichner, NCSU -- Student-Centered Activities for Large Enrollment University Physics

Thurs. Feb. 26, 2004 (no scheduled seminar)

Thurs. Mar. 4, 2004 Professor Daniel Reichart, UNC -- Gamma-Ray Bursts as Probes of the Early Universe

Thurs. Mar. 11, 2004 No seminar (spring break)

Thurs. Mar. 18, 2004 Professor George Holzwarth, WFU -- Molecular Motors in vitro and in Live Cells: the effect of load on velocity

Thurs. Mar. 25, 2004 March APS meeting

Thurs. Apr. 1, 2004 Professor John Thomas, Duke U. -- Experiments with a Strongly-interacting Degenerate Fermi Gas

Thurs. Apr. 8, 2004 Professor Niall Ó Murchadha, University College Cork -- The independent gravitational degrees of freedom

Thurs. Apr. 15, 2004 Chanté Singleton, WFU -- Master's thesis presentation: "Radiation Surface Dose Using the DignicapTM Hypothermic Cap in Conjunction with Whole-Brain Radiation Treatment" (Seminar will be given at 11 AM.)

Thurs. Apr. 15, 2004 Professor Marco Buongiorno Nardelli, NCSU -- Crystalline Oxides on Semiconductors: a future for the nanotransistor

Thurs. Apr. 22, 2004 Dr. Timothy E. Miller, WFU -- Quarks, Gluons, ... and Plasma? Oh my!

Thurs. Apr. 29, 2004 Virginia Lockamy, WFU -- Ph. D. Thesis presentation -- The search for the mechanism of nitric oxide release in hydroxyurea therapy (Seminar will be given at 10 AM.)

Thurs. Apr. 29, 2004 ΣΠ&Sigma ceremony and honors presentations. (Seminar will start at 3:45 PM.)

Mon. May 3, 2004 Xuili Xu, WFU -- Ph. D. Thesis presentation -- Study of the effects of nitric oxide on Sickle Cell Disease (Seminar will be given at 1:30 PM.)

Fri. May 28, 2004 Keijing Chen, WFU -- Ph. D. Thesis presentation -- Light scattering study on the polymerization and aggregation of Hemoglobin in high concentration phosphate buffer (Seminar will be given at 9 AM)

Fri. May 28, 2004 Professor Peter Moore, Yale U. -- "Structure of the large ribosomal subunit: Mutational studies of the peptide exit tunnel". Seminar will be given at 12 noon in Seminar Room A, Center for Structural Biology, Bowman Cray Tecnical Center This biophysics seminar arranged by Biochemistry Department and The Graduate School. Directions are available.)


Tentative schedule -- please check announcements and abstracts of seminars.
Previous and future colloquia

WFU Physics Home Page