[an error occurred while processing this directive]

WFU Physics Colloquium Schedule -- Fall 2005


All seminars will be held at 4 PM in Room 101 of Olin Physical Laboratory (unless noted otherwise); there will be refreshments at 3:30 PM in the lobby prior to each seminar.

Thurs. Aug. 25, 2005 Physics Department wecoming statements and announcements ( 3:45 PM ) Professor Pete Santago, WFUMS -- Developments in the Virginia Tech -- Wake Forest University School of Biomedical Engineering and Sciences. ( 4:00 PM)

Thurs. Sept. 1, 2005 Undergraduate research presentations and faculty research presentations, Part I.

Thurs. Sept. 8, 2005 Professor Harold Baranger, Duke -- Interference and Interactions in Electronic Nanostructures

Thurs. Sept. 15, 2005 Faculty research presentations, Part II.

Thurs. Sept. 22, 2005 Professor Chandran Sabanayagam, U. Maryland -- The photophysics of Förster resonance energy transfer studied by single-molecule spectroscopy (Prof. Sabanayagam will also give a the first annual Alumni Seminar on Friday, Sept. 23 at 4 PM in Olin 101 -- A review of plasmon-fluorophore interactions

Thurs. Sept. 29, 2005 Professor Richard Creswick, U. South Carolina -- Forward Into The Past! Time Reversal and the Second Law of Thermodynamics

Thurs. Oct. 6, 2005 Professor Paul Selvin, UIUC -- Studying Single-Molecule Molecular Motors

Thurs. Oct. 13, 2005 (Fall break 10/14/05)

Thurs. Oct. 20, 2005 (no seminar due to Inauguration of Wake Forest President)

Thurs. Oct. 27, 2005 Professor Edward Yu, Iowa State University -- The AcrB Efflux Pump: a Triple-Barrel Shotgun for Getting Rid of Drugs

Thurs. Nov. 3, 2005 Faculty research presentations, Part III. (Professor Pollack's colloquium will be rescheduled.)

Thurs. Nov. 10, 2005 Professor Dany Kim-Shapiro -- Hemoglobin: Nitric Oxide Destroyer, Preserver, or Creator? (Professor Simon's colloquium will be rescheduled.)

Thurs. Nov. 17, 2005 Professor Guoliang Yang, Drexel U. -- The effects of macromolecular crowding on the mechanical stability of proteins

Thurs. Nov. 24, 2005 (Thanksgiving Holiday)

Thurs. Dec. 1, 2005 Jerrold Kielbasa, WFU -- Is a perfect lens possible? Concepts of negative refractive index.


Tentative schedule -- please check announcements and abstracts of seminars.
Previous and future colloquia

[an error occurred while processing this directive]