[an error occurred while processing this directive]

WFU Physics Colloquium Schedule -- Spring 2006


All seminars will be held at 4 PM in Room 101 of Olin Physical Laboratory (unless noted otherwise); there will be refreshments at 3:30 PM in the lobby prior to each seminar.

Thurs. Jan. 12, 2006 D. J. Williams, WFU School of Medicine and WFU alum -- A Day and a Night at the South Pole

Thurs. Jan. 19, 2006 Professor Keith Bonin, WFU -- Molecular Motors and Efficient Motion in a Viscoelastic Environment

Thurs. Jan. 26, 2006 Professor John Simon, Duke U. -- "Free-electron laser photoelectron emission microscopy studies of human pigment"

Thurs. Feb. 2, 2006 Dr. Jamil Egdemir, WFU -- Nuclear Modification of Electrons from Heavy Flavor Decays at RHIC

Thurs. Feb. 9, 2006 Dr. Nancy J. Dudney, ORNL -- Properties of Thin Film Materials for Rechargeable Lithium Batteries

Thurs. Feb. 16, 2006 Professor Benjamin Yellen, Duke U. -- Applications of Magnetic Nanoparticles in Medicine and Nanotechnology

Thurs. Feb. 23, 2006 Professor Wolfgang Christian, Davidson -- Open Source Physics: Curriculum Material for Teachers, Authors, and Developers

Tues. Feb. 28, 2006 Kris T. Huang, Ph. D. thesis presentation -- The roles of hemoglobin, nitrite, nitric oxide, and red cells in hypoxic vasodilation ( 2 PM in Hanes Building, Room 1064 on the WFUSM campus)

Thurs. Mar. 2, 2006 Dr. David Ward, Harvard -- Light Waves: Seeing is Believing

Thurs. Mar. 9, 2006 No seminar (spring break)

Thurs. Mar. 16, 2006 (March APS meeting)

Thurs. Mar. 23, 2006 Professor Andrew Zangwill, Ga Tech -- Spintronics for Pedestrians

Thurs. Mar. 30, 2006 Professor Karen Buchmueller, WFU -- Sequence Specific Targeting of DNA using Polyamides

Thurs. Apr. 6, 2006 Professor Bernard Whiting, UF -- Exploring the Equivalence Principle: Extending Einstein's Legacy

Thurs. Apr. 13, 2006 Professor Arthur Champagne, UNC -- Nuclear Physics, Globular Clusters and the Age of the Galaxy

Thurs. Apr. 20, 2006 Professor Michael Brown, Swarthmore -- Self organization in magnetized plasmas (supported by the APS Plasma Physics Distinguished Lecturer Series)

Thurs. Apr. 27, 2006 ΣΠ&Sigma ceremony and honors presentation -- Baxter McGuirt Inkjet Printing of Biological Materials

Thurs. May 25, 2006 Ph. D. Thesis presentation -- Ping Tang, WFU -- Computational Research on Lithium-Ion Battery Materials at 9 AM in Olin 103

Tues. July 25, 2006 M. S. Thesis presentation -- David Evanich, WFU -- Parametric Resonance in Semiclassical Chaotic Inflation at 2 PM in Olin 103


Tentative schedule -- please check announcements and abstracts of seminars.
Previous and future colloquia

[an error occurred while processing this directive]