Awards Received by Faculty, Staff and Students

October 2023

Professor Martin Guthold was awarded the Kulynych Family Faculty Fellowship. This fellowship has a three-year term beginning July 1, 2023, and ending June 30, 2026. This and other fellowships recognize Wake Forest’s best teacher-scholars. The Wake Forest Faculty Fellowship program is a program of financial support designed to honor the University’s best teacher-scholars.

Oana Jurchescu

Professor Oana Jurchescu was awarded the 2022 George B. Pegram Prize from the Southeastern Section of the American Physics Society (SESAPS). The award is in recognition of her excellence in mentoring and in teaching physics in the Southeast US. The award citation reads:

For her exceptional mentorship of students in physics and service in the teaching of physics. Prof. Jurchescu has mentored multiple students on to physics careers, many of which have been recognized through the receipt of awards and fellowships of the highest caliber. This mentorship includes students both in and outside of her home institution and we also recognize her success in the mentoring and promotion of women and underrepresented students in physics. For her excellence in teaching, Prof. Jurchescu has been recognized multiple times by her home institution, at both the departmental and university levels

The following Awards were presented at our Annual Physics Department Awards Ceremony in May:

Timo Thonhauser received the Excellence in Teaching Award
Candace Ring received the Physics Department Outstanding Service Award.

Leda Gao, Shohreh Gholizadeh Siahmazgi, and Wells Graham were co-reciepients of the Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award.

Haardik Pandeyl received the Outstanding Graduate Research Award

Laxman Poudel received the Peer Mentor Award.

Chao Shang and Arina Yu were co-recipients of the Speas Award.

Eduardo Castellanos, Joe Cho, Cameron May, and Arina Yu were co-recipients of the Major Field Tests Achievement Awards.