Awards Received by Faculty, Staff and Students

Fred Salsbury has received the Scott Family Fellowship Award.  The award began on July 1, 2020 and lasts for three years.  He was given the award in recognition of his “outstanding record of teaching and scholarship”.

Paul Anderson

Paul Anderson has been elected a 2020 Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS) by the APS Council of Representatives upon the recommendation of the Division of Gravitational Physics . This honor is in recognition of contributions to the understanding of quantum field theory in curved spacetime applied to black hole and cosmological spacetimes.Professor Anderson also received the Physics Department Excellence in Teaching Award.

Lainey Drake

Physics and Theatre Major Lainey Drake earned the prestigious Brooke Owens Fellowship last spring.  As a Brooke Owens Fellow, Lainey spent the summer as an engineering intern with Virgin Galactic in Las Cruces, New Mexico.

The following Awards were presented at our first virtual Annual Physics Department Awards Ceremony in May:

Gloria Stickney, Physics department Business manager, received the Outstanding Service Award
Andrew Zeidell received the Outstanding Graduate Research Award
Graduate Student, Ali Daraei, won the Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award

Graduate Students, Hamna Iqbal and Melissa Pashayan, were co-recipients of the Peer Mentor Award

Undergraduate Students, Robert Bradford and Jiqing (Jacquelyn) Zhu were co-recipients of the Speas Award